Sunday, April 24, 2011

Card Of The Week April 24

Learned something interesting this week from the Gary Garland's articles in "The Japanese Insider" over at BaseballGuru.com. In 1974, Nippon Ham Fighters pitcher Naoki Takahashi got a win and a save in the same game. He was the pitcher of record when his manager shifted him to third base for one batter. Following that batter, he resumed pitching and got the save. The rules were changed later to no longer allow one player to get both the win and the save, so Takahashi was the first and only player to ever pull this off. Here's a 1979 Yamakatsu card of him (#93):

1 comment:

Lonestarr said...

What a great bit of trivia!