Wednesday, January 19, 2011

2010 BBM Nippon Series

Once again, BBM completes their card line for the year with the annual Nippon Series box set. This year's set features a whopping 71 cards including all the players (and managers) from the Champion Chiba Lotte Marines and the Chunichi Dragons. There's also a card depicting the victorious Marines (#S71 shown above), a card for the Series MVP ((Toshiaki Imae), one for the Fighting Spirit award winner (Kazuhiro Wada), and cards for each of the Outstanding Player award winners (Tatsuya Uchi, Ikuhiro Kiyota, Yohei Oshima).

I think this is the largest Nippon Series set ever as a couple extra inning games in the Series forced each team to got deep into their benches. There are 32 Marines depicted, including a number (Takuya Furuya, Kei Hosoya, Takumi Kohbe, Ryusuke Minami, Shunichi Nemoto, Yoshifumi Okada and Hayden Penn) who did not appear in either the 1st or 2nd Version sets. There are 33 Dragons which included three guys who didn't appear in the 1st or 2nd Version sets - Naomichi Donoue, Takehiro Donoue and Yuichi Hisamoto.

The set design is nice and BBM did their usual good job of picking photos for the cards. Every picture is from the actual Series. Here's some example cards of Motonobu Tanishige(#S49), Tsuyoshi Nishioka (#S19), Kazuya Fuukura (#S21) and Tony Blanco (#S55):

No comments: